Hammer Horror Icons | Ingrid Pitt

pitt13

“Ingrid Pitt was offered the starring role in The Vampire Lovers soon after meeting [film producer] James Carreras at the premiere party for Alfred the Great in 1969. The full-frontal nudity demanded by the script bothered her little. ‘I remember my first nude scene with Maddy Smith was coming up and, although neither of us particularly minded, at that time it wasn’t an everyday event. Jimmy Carreras was okay about it, but I was told the other producers, Harry Fine and Michael Style, were a bit po-faced. I was walking to the stage when I met Fine and Style, looking very dejected, walking in the opposite direction. I felt so sorry for them. As I drew near, I stopped and ripped open my dressing gown with all the brio of an experienced flasher on Hampstead Heath.’” – The Hammer Story: The Authorized History of Hammer Films, Marcus Hearns & Alan Barnes, Titan Books, 2007.

pitt07

“The BBFC’s John Trevelyan was alarmed by the [The Vampire Lovers] screenplay’s ‘dangerous cocktail’ of sex and horror. In a letter to [film producer] Harry Fine dated 26 January 1970, he complained that Tudor Gates’ script contained ‘a lot of material that we would be unhappy about even with an X at eighteen…I want you to take my comments seriously since if you do not we are likely to have on our hands a film that we cannot pass for exhibition in this country.’” – The Hammer Story: The Authorized History of Hammer Films, Marcus Hearns & Alan Barnes, Titan Books, 2007.

pitt11

pitt06

pitt25

pitt19

pitt03

pitt05

pitt17

pitt24

pitt10

pitt15

“Becoming part of Hammer Films was like being welcomed into a family. I was very aware of it as an institution and was honoured to join the ranks of luminaries who had made their mark there.”- Life’s A Scream, Ingrid Pitt, William Heinemann, 1999.

pitt08

pitt12

pitto4

pitt20

pitt26

pitt16

“Hammer Films’ publicity department decided to go to town. ‘The new face for the Seventies!’, ‘Queen of Horror’, ‘The most beautiful Ghoul in the World!’ I was thrilled and wallowed in it. I probably should have been cool and cynical.” – Life’s A Scream, Ingrid Pitt, William Heinemann, 1999.

pitt09

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

